A HERBERT FOWLER MASTERPIECE SINCE 1923
The Bradford Golf Club is one of the oldest and most prestigious golf clubs in Yorkshire. Established at Baildon in 1891 as The Bradford St Andrews Golf Club, the club changed its name in 1894 and was relocated to its present site in 1899.
The original Clubhouse was opened on 9th November 1900 by the Rt. Hon. A.J. Balfour MP, Leader of the House of Commons and Prime Minister (1902-05). In 1925 it was destroyed by fire and rebuilt on the same foundations.
In 1922/23 the course was substantially altered by the golf architects Messrs. Fowler and Simpson. They made the layout similar to the course you see today and we are proud of being one of only two Fowler-designated courses in Yorkshire. The course has been further improved with significant investment in greenkeeping equipment, alterations to the drainage and the construction of new bunkers.
In more recent times, we have embarked on a course development programme to ensure that the course continues to retain its open moorland aspect and unique features of Fowler’s original design.
Image courtesy of Geoff Shackelford’s “the Golden Ages of Architecture”